Shut the Front Door

Posted on

Door colors have been on my mind for the past few months.

It started with a controversial color that my mom picked for the front door of their new house.

THE Front Door
The almost famous front door

The color is called “Jolly Green” and is by Sherwin Williams.  It is literally the same color as the neon green painter’s tape. In fact, many people have asked if this was a primer, or if this was the “final” paint color.

A better view of the stained glass.. from inside the house

When she originally chose the color, I was not sold on it.  The house that they are building is 1/2 wood shop for my dad, and the other 1/2 is their living space.  She wanted to be able to tell visitors to “go to the ________ colored door” when directing them to the living side.  She had selected their doors very carefully, and wanted a paint color that would bring out one of the shades in the stained glass.  I had been hoping for a royal blue.  That, however, was not her choice.

I helped her paint the doors.  As I was putting on the first few strokes, I admit I was still thinking, “Wow.. this is a BRIGHT shade of green…”

I couldn’t think of many positive attributes for the color, but the more I see it next to their wood siding, the more it grows on me.  I can honestly say now that I’m glad she chose it.  It adds a lot of personality to the house and really makes it stand out from all the other ho-hum doors out there.

{My dad has chosen to remain strategically silent on this whole issue.}

Front of the house
Here’s a little better perspective on what the doors look like with the rest of the {all brown} house.

The comments from the neighbors, however?  Yikes!  Didn’t any of those people see Bambi?:

“If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nothin’ at all.”

They’re still in the middle of the building process, but as the rest of the exterior work and landscaping are finished, I think a lot more people will be in favor of this color choice.  And.. if not.. who cares?!?

In honor of my mother {and all other brave women – and men – everywhere},  here are a few of my favorite bold front door color choices.

So, what do you think?  Would you prefer to stand out with your decorating choices, or are you someone who feels more comfortable playing it safe with color?
If you’re thinking about taking the color plunge, why not start with something like your front door?  For about a $20 investment {the cost of a quart of paint and a good brush}, you can have a colorful piece of art that says, “Hello!” to anyone who visits your home.

If nothing else.. at least it’ll get the neighbors talking! 🙂

-Cherie

2 thoughts on “Shut the Front Door

    Tabitha said:
    September 13, 2013 at 6:49 am

    Wow. That is very bright green. I don’t mind doors that make a statement, and I look forward to being “the house with the red door”, but my preference is more toward red, light/pale blue, yellow, even black or navy. Another good way to spice up a plain-colored door is by hanging a door wreath or decorating the porch–both very welcoming, in my opinion. 🙂

    nauticalmountaindesigns responded:
    September 15, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Even though I took these pictures, in my mind I’m still thinking, “Is it really that color? I don’t think it’s QUITE that bright of a green..” I guess I’m used to it now. Honestly, I look forward to seeing that door every time we go to their house any more. 🙂

Let us know what you think!

