Purple

Posted on Updated on

“What comes to mind when you think of purple?”

Image
Source: Art Therapy

When I asked people on my Facebook page, I got a lot of these answers, and more:

Royalty, mystery, magic, drama, beautiful flowers, wine…

My older children always ask me, “Mom, what’s your favorite color?” They both know my standard answer is, “I like ALL of them.”  The reason I say that is because I believe they can all be beautiful if they’re used correctly.  I have favorite colors to wear, favorites to design with, and I definitely have seasonal favorites.  I love dark colors like navy and red in winter; fresh, bright colors in spring and summer; and rich jewel tones in the fall.  As summer feels like it’s quickly drawing to a close, I can’t help but be inspired by the coming of my favorite season.  I love living in Pennsylvania in the fall.  The leaves are changing, the air is crisp, my favorite candle scents are available, I begin drinking cappuccino again, and my preferred jewel tone – purple – is popping up everywhere.

Image
Source: 52 Flea
Image
Source not available

Isn’t purple beautiful?

I can’t think of a more stunning, dramatic color. It’s so.. well, elegant!

~ ~ ~ ~

When I was younger, I really wanted a royal purple bathroom.  I have no idea why I felt this way, but I did get what I wanted. When I went to college, we bought everything purple to go with the neutral bathroom I had at the time.  I loved it. I had purple towels, purple rugs, purple trash can, you get the picture…

In my mind, what I think I wanted was something like this:

Image
Source: Indulgy

Of course, that’s not what my bathroom actually looked like, but I was happy with it.  We still have {and use} those purple towels in our house now, but it will never again be the main color.

~ ~ ~ ~

My youngest niece loves purple.  They are getting ready to move, so my sister and I began planning her room this summer. When my niece and I were daydreaming and looking at pictures on Houzz, I discovered that she too prefers the deeper shades of purple.  Her room is going to be beautiful.. I’ll make sure of that.  Here is the first piece I made for her room:

Image

Since I’ve been daydreaming about purple so much lately, I decided to create a design board for a rich guest bedroom with a monochromatic purple color scheme.  It was tons of fun, and I think it turned out beautifully!

Image

What do you think? Is purple on your list of color favorites, or would you never be caught dead with a purple room?  I’d love to know what you think!

Cherie

Let us know what you think!

